3 Days Down…

Standard

Aaron left for the States Thursday afternoon. We were all sad, and I was a bit anxious. Joshua was less than 2 weeks old at that point. (He reached the 2-week mark yesterday.) I don’t think I have ever spent more than 2 nights away from Aaron since moving to Kenya. And did I mention that it’s been less than 2 weeks since I had a baby?

Contrary to the worst case scenarios that flooded my mind, things have gone quite well so far. Joshua is being very nice to me at night, which helps me care for the older boys during the day. I was able to take two cat naps on Saturday thanks to movies and snuggly boys. We enjoyed pizza night with one family on Friday and two other families provided meals for Saturday and Sunday. Friends are checking in on us, and the boys have been fine. We all miss Aaron, but we’re doing really well. Thanks for praying us through these days!

As we anticipate the week ahead, please continue to pray for us:

1. Please pray for me as I resume my teaching responsibilities. Pray that Joshua will allow me to teach Algebra I and Pre-Algebra without too much hassle. Pray that my students will be flexible and patient with whatever happens during their class.

2. Pray for the boys. They miss Daddy. They’re all a little crankier than usual. Pray that they won’t worry about him and that they’ll be able to voice any anxiety they may be carrying.

3. Pray for our health. It seems like we are sharing some kind of infection. Fingers, faces, eyes and legs have ugly, nasty spots. Pray that it will go away quickly.

4. Pray for an extra measure of patience for me. I’m obviously not getting as much sleep as usual, and that tends to make me cranky. Pray that I’ll submit to the Spirit instead of taking out my frustrations/exhaustion on the boys.

5. Pray for Aaron. Pray that his training will be profitable and enjoyable. Pray that he’ll have fun in the States (i.e., eating lots of good food)! Pray that he’ll return to Kenya safely Saturday night.

6. Pray for two teams from Tenwek that are serving in South Sudan this week and next. One is an eye team, and the other is a women’s health clinic. Pray for the leaders, the Kenyan staff who are serving with them, and the patients they will serve. Pray for the wives and children that are left behind here at Tenwek while they are gone.

Ephesians 4:22-24 You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness. 

2 responses »

  1. Praying for you….your ministry “at home” is no less important than what Aaron is doing. We are all co-laborers in the cause of the Gospel…

  2. If I know you, Joshua is already on a schedule and is sleeping through the night. You amaze me with that. Prayers for teaching to go well with Joshua, for everyone’s health to return, for Aaron to be well educated with a safe return home (to not rub it in about all the yummy food he ate), for more sleep and less crankiness, and for the boys to be at peace knowing Daddy will return safe and soon. My love and thoughts are always with you, Aaron, and the boys. God Bless, Lisa

Leave a Reply

