Ready or Not…It’s Time for School!

Standard

The Tenwek MK School started on Wednesday, August 27. Praise God!

Ever since we returned to Tenwek from language school, we’ve been overwhelmed with meetings, unpacking, school preparations, reorganizing the house, failed attempts at Swahili use, informal meetings of the minds, and trying to get back to life as normal. All of this activity had a deadline: August 27. As we all know, once school starts it’s hard to get much else accomplished. School schedules tend to dictate how our remaining time is used.

 

We somehow managed a picture before Aaron left for work. My camera wouldn't turn on so this is the only picture I have of the entire day!

We somehow managed a picture before Aaron left for work. My camera wouldn’t turn on so this is the only picture I have of the entire day!

Well, August 27 came and went, and we’re all still alive and well. Wednesday was a very good start to the school year. In fact, the first three days of school were considered a success by all…well, at least by a majority of the people involved in schooling here at Tenwek.

Wednesday morning began with my alarm clock. Once the boys were up and everyone was dressed, we sat down for breakfast and morning devotions at 8:00 a.m. By 8:30, Noah and I were in our schoolroom doing math. A half hour later, all three boys ran out the front door to their classes and two other boys entered my house for Algebra I class.

Levi goes to the Bemm basement from 9am until 11am on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Aunt Katie is his teacher, and he loves every minute of it. Jacob goes to the Chupp basement for first grade with 3 other kids and Aunt Erin as the teacher. They begin at 9am and are done between 11:30 and noon. Being the most eager student of my kiddos, he couldn’t wait for school to start. In fact, a few days before school started, he looked at me and said, “Momma, when is school gonna start? This playin’ is getting’ kinda boring!” Then, we have the opposite end of the spectrum in Noah. He has multiple teachers from 9am until noon in the MK schoolroom. There are 3 other boys and 2 girls in his class. When he got home after the first day, he said, “Well, that was no fun at all!” When I asked a few follow-up questions, he admitted that school wasn’t too hard, but it certainly was NOT fun! From noon until he’s done, Noah must finish up his math. He doesn’t understand why he can’t just use a calculator and write in his chicken scratch the rest of his life. Oh boy!

Next week, we’ll endure our first full week of school. Jacob and Noah will have a few afternoon classes added to their morning schedule. On the days they don’t have PE or art, I will try to expound on our morning devotions by doing fun crafts or activities and reading to the boys. Plus, the older boys will have homework most days.

My mornings aren’t quite as full as they were last year. (I tried to reserve room for Joshua!) I teach Algebra to two boys in my schoolroom from 9am until 9:45am. On Tuesdays and Thursdays, Levi and I do a little school together. Then, Noah and Lydia arrive a little after noon to do third-grade math and pre-Algebra in my home.

So far, things seem to be going well. I’m sure we’ll need a little time to re-evaluate things once Joshua is here. At the very least, we’ll need to be more flexible! I’m praying for another 2 months of baby-free teaching. I’m also praying that Joshua is a good sleeper!

 Praises and Prayer Requests:

  1. Praise God for the way He has orchestrated our co-op this year! Please continue to pray for us moms who teach all these kids!
  2. Praise God for the local church. Today was children’s church. Everything, including the sermon, was run by the children who attended VBS last week. It was fun and amazing to watch these Kenyan youth take charge of the service! Please pray for these kids, that they would become strong leaders in their churches and communities here in Kenya.
  3. Praise God that Joshua and I have made it to the third trimester. Please pray that he’ll stay put another 2 months.
  4. I’m taking a 1-hour glucose tolerance test on Tuesday morning. My OB had to improvise. I get to drink a Fanta and eat half a chocolate bar instead of drinking that nasty glucose drink. Pray that I don’t have gestational diabetes.

You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. Deuteronomy 6:7

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

